“Six Glasses” on NPR’s All Things Considered

I was interviewed on NPR’s All Things Considered yesterday, mainly about beer in the ancient world, since they were doing a segment on beer. Alas, I was unable to participate in the subsequent on-air tasting, since I did the interview from London. But I was glad to see that the tasting included Anchor Steam, one of my favourite American beers. (For the record, others include Anchor Liberty Ale, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Pyramid Hefeweizen, and anything by Ommegang.) Anchor beer was appropriate for another reason: Fritz Maytag, head honcho at Anchor, is very interested in ancient beer and has recreated ancient Sumerian brews from the original recipes a couple of times. I visited him while researching the book, but he doesn’t have any Sumerian beer available for tasting any more, so I couldn’t taste it.

Leave a Reply

