Food and drink, continued

This has got to be the most unusual book review I’ve ever had: Paco Calderón, a Mexican cartoonist, has reviewed “A History of the World in 6 Glasses” in the form of a cartoon (left). As an occasional cartoonist myself, I think this is an excellent use of the art form.

Meanwhile, I am still on the road promoting “An Edible History of Humanity” with various personal appearances and radio interviews. This week I was on NPR’s Talk of the Nation, and I was also interviewed by NPR affiliate KUOW in Seattle, in a wide-ranging conversation that also covered some of my other books.

While on tour I have been doing a fair amount of culinary tourism. In San Francisco I visited TCHO to pick up some chocolate (I wrote a story about the company last year), and went to Ritual Coffee Roasters to try coffee made with a Clover machine. I had a cup of Fazenda Kaquend, the winner of the Brazil Cup of Excellence competition. Normally I put sugar in my coffee to take the edge off it, but there was not a hint of bitterness. In Berkeley I had ice cream at Ici, which was also excellent. But I have to admit that my favourite discovery was that Anchor Liberty Ale was available on tap at SFO. It is my favourite beer. I am now in Iowa. Time for some corn.

UPDATE June 6th: After an on-stage conversation about my book at the Printers Row Literary Festival in Chicago with Mike Gebert of food blog Sky Full of Bacon, I asked Mike for a lunch suggestion, and we ended up going to Frontera Grill. Chef Rick Bayless is the dean of “white table-cloth Mexican food”, apparently. We had ceviche and tostaditas, after which I had poached eggs with masa boats, black beans and crumbled chorizo. With some Goose Island “Summertime” beer. A delicious and suitably American end to my tour. Thanks, Mike!

5 thoughts on “Food and drink, continued

  1. Tom,

    I’m reading the “Edible History of Humanity”. Thanks for your well written book on the journey of food. Food, of course, is something we all love and consume every day (perhaps too much of); and no one stops to ponder about its origins and impact to human history.

    I’m enjoying the book and just got through the spice trade section — very interesting. One point of correction on pg 92… Calicut is not modern Calcutta (now Kolkata). Calicut is a city on the southern tip of India in the state of Kerala (it is situated on the Malabar coast). Kolkata, on the other hand, is on the north east side of India (in the state of Bengal)– I don’t think it is known for growing spices, pepper in particular.

    Best
    Naresh

  2. I’d like to see the cartoon review of “A History of the World in 6 Glasses”, but the link directs me to a different page… Help!

Leave a comment